If you are involved in the rescue circuit, you know that one of the greatest needs is fosters. Unfortunately, many people maintain that they aren’t suited for fostering, because it would be too hard to give the dog up. I personally feel this is a very selfish way of thinking.  Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of reasons why a person would be unable to foster a dog: Space availability, financial hardship, and long work hours are the main ones that come to mind. But you can’t foster a dog, because you might love it too much? Give me a break.

I’d like to tell you a short story about my most recent foster, Bentley. He can be found on our “Current Foster Projects” page located here. Bentley had the most irresistible little border collie face I had seen in a long time. That split face of his was just to die for. He had the most loving personality and was confident to boot. He loved to “talk” to us and run around with his foster brother and sister. In short, if we didn’t live in an apartment and have two dogs and two cats, we would have kept him without question. He’s that great! The reality is that, we didn’t have the space to keep that sweet baby and we knew that when we agreed to foster. Even though I became strongly attached to him in the two weeks that we had him, I always knew in the back of my mind that it was only temporary. That being said, I still cried in my car on the way home from work on Friday, knowing that I had to say goodbye to him.

Bentley Chewing his peanut butter bone

Bentley playing with his foster brother, Maverick

The great thing about fostering is that you typically have the final say where the dog goes. This is ideal, because you get the piece of mind that comes with knowing your fostering baby is in a good and loving home. Bentley was our third foster this summer and he went to a great home, just like the other two. I love seeing pictures of them with their new families. Those happy faces make it completely worth it. It is, without question, the most rewarding thing I have done with my life to date.

Kisses for Bentley

In the future, think twice before you pass up the opportunity to foster a dog in need. The amount of stray animals in the city of Houston is staggering. I think many people are oblivious to how bad the problem really is. The rescue groups in Houston are doing amazing work, but they need your help! The more fosters they have, the more dogs they can save.

Little known facts about fostering

  1. Rescue groups typically pay for all medical costs associated with fostering
  2. The foster family has the final say where the dog is placed
  3. Foster dogs can be easily marketed online through social networking sites such as Facebook (I’ve placed all three of my dogs through Facebook)
  4. The more you can teach a foster dog (leash training, potty training & basic obedience), the easier it will be to place it

Before you leave, do me a favor and participate in the poll below. I’d loved to get some feedback about the reasons why more people don’t foster.

